Beyond PAW: Updated Breastfeeding Tricks of the Trade


I never ever and I do mean EVER thought I would say this, but I love pumping at work.  My previous job didn’t allow much privacy, but at my new job, I am now pumping in the comfort of the Executive lounge, where I can lock the door and put up my feet.  Since I am only pumping twice a day, I take the opportunity to pump 30 minutes at a time which allows for about 3 letdowns. I usually end up with over 12 ounces at the end of the workday, which I’m not sure whether that’s too low or not.

Ahh, the joy of knowing that the little one can continue to drink liquid goal yet another day!  Since I wasn’t one of those all knowing Mommies who stockpiled milk in the beginning, every day is a challenge to make sure that my little girl has all of the nutrients she needs.  And while I continue to kick myself for being such an idiot for not doing this, life goes on ….

This means I get the opportunity of pumping at home before I go to sleep at night and before I go to work in the morning.  That way I know for sure she isn’t going to run out of milk during the day and can rest a little easier during the day. 

While I have posted tricks of the trade before, I thought I should add a few extra tips…

REST!  Ok, I know I mentioned before how tired I am, but everything I have read about breastfeeding says that we need to rest in order to be able to produce. (kinda of makes sound like cows, but I will leave it alone.)

Stay Hydrated-A little water never hurt anyone.  It hasn’t been exactly proven, but for me I have been able to produce more milk when I am drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day.

A few tricks I would like to try:

Power Pumping-From what I understand if you pump for 10 minutes, take a break and then pump again, you should be able to produce more milk then if you are pumping for 30 minutes straight.  I am going to try this technique and share my results.  Hopefully, it works.

Oatmeal-Some say this is an old wives tale, but some Moms stand by it. If anyone has tried this, please let me know so that I can avoid forcing myself to eat oatmeal.

Leave a Reply

