Fast Food Isn’t Cost Effective


As most of you Workin Mamas (and friends of Workin Mamas) know, it can be pretty rough to keep a budget these days. After the bills have been paid, honestly what’s left?

Even though there isn’t much money around, the family still has to be fed and some of us buy into these “deals” that fast food joints offer, when truth be told, the deals are pretty nonexistent. Most of the time the food is high priced and you don’t get enough food to last for the next meal (i.e. lunch).

I considered going to a fast food joint the other day but decided to take my chances with the grocery store. With only $13 to my name, I went to Meijers after work to see what I could rustle up for dinner. In my past experience, I have discovered that Meijers can be a little expensive, so I was praying that my plan would work. I was amazed with only 13 dollars; I was able to purchase the following:

  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 pack of ground turkey
  • 2 jars of Ragu spaghetti sauce
  • 1 pack of Barilla spaghetti
  • 1 pack of Meijers garlic bread

All of the makings for a big spaghetti dinner! Of course, I cheated by having some items already at home, but I never expected to purchase some many of the ingredients. And what’s even better, I had enough food to last through the evening, lunch and dinner the following evening.

What are your families doing to cut down costs? I would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Fast Food Isn’t Cost Effective

  1. Excellent post! So many parents believe it’s cheaper to feed their families fast food, but you just debunked that myth! Our weekly grocery bill is $60 for a family of three, we eat very little meat which saves a lot. We are thinking of cutting off the cable and just watching network TV.

  2. Excellent post, lady! Looove it! I’m so glad you did this! Too many people ar buying into the “fast food” persona. It’s not healthy and it really is not beneficial. As you stated there rarely is something left over. Love you so much for posting this!

  3. Teresha you gotta tell me how you have a weekly grocery bill of $60. How can I be down?

    Thanks Keysha! I knew you would like it!

Leave a Reply

