Mom, Mommy, Mama!


My daughter has a habit of calling everyone “Mommy.” It doesn’t matter who it is; her aunt, godmothers and even her daddy get called “my name.” At first it was really fun watching her run after her dad screaming to the top of her lungs, “Mommy!” But then when she started doing it with everyone I grew a little nervous and wondered if she was ok. Did she realize that she was calling everyone me? Was this is a developmental hiccup?

Nervousness was starting to develop into pure frustration when my husband told me, “Mommy is an action word to her. She knows when she uses it people do what she wants.”

It makes sense. If you know that calling on Mommy gets you what you want, why wouldn’t you continue to use it over and over and over and over again?

So instead of getting frustrated, I chuckle a little every time she does it and then I try to get her to use her growing vocabulary. Kids have to learn one way or another, don’t they?

Does my little one sound familiar? I would love to hear your stories!

Leave a Reply

