Man! I Feel Like a Woman!


When I get home from work in the evening, I am exhausted. Especially if I am working on a huge proposal or planning a large event. There just aren’t enough hours in the day to allow me to do everything I need to do. Everything in my body begs to go from door to mattress in 30 seconds flat. In the meantime, my toddler wants to play, my husband wants dinner and I need to catch up on laundry.

I made a schedule to help get some of the chores done, but to be honest, it doesn’t address the main issue: MAMA IS TIRED! I spoke with my mom about it because I don’t know how she raised her kids while working the afternoon shift, but she managed to get it done and should have a wealth of advice. She suggested that I purchase vitamins and also provided sage advice, “You have to take care of yourself!” My mom is right. ( I hate it when she’s right)  If I don’t take care of myself, there won’t be enough of me left to take care of my husband or my daughter.

What I really need is time management. In my spare time (hah!) I realized that I almost never prepare for anything. It’s safe to say that I am really bad at preparation. I run hard until about 9pm and then after I put my daughter down for bed, I collapse on the sofa and pass out until midnight. What if I set up Syd’s clothing for the next day as I getting her ready for bed? Or, what if I prepare everyone’s lunch while I am getting dinner together? These things would help me be better off in the morning and I would spin my wheels more proactively.

Every article I read on helping the exhausted working mother addresses the idea that if we exercise more, then we would have more energy.  At what point do they think I have time to exercise?  I mean, when I get in the door, my daughter demands my attention. I can’t take her to the gym with me because she wants to be with me. But maybe there’s something to this whole exercise thing. When I was exercising, I found that I had more energy to take care of things around the house and I wasn’t so exhausted. Perhaps I can strike a compromise and get back to exercising using the Wii at least two to three times a week.

Balancing our work and personal life can be difficult, but with preparation and establishing boundaries, it doesn’t have to be exhausting 24-hours a day.

Have any ideas on how to create that perfect balance?  I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

