New Year Resolutions err…Decisions


It’s that time of the year again when everyone considers changes that they can make in their lives. More than 40 to 45%  of Americans go as far as making New Year’s Resolutions. And yet, many of those who make solemn vows to lose weight, give up smoking or stop procrastinating, often give up less than 3 months into the game.

As I ponder my own resolutions, I wonder how as my friend Marnette says,  make these resolutions into “decisions”. I turn to an article that I found on ehow.com that is written to help everyone make changes in their life.

My favorites from this article include:

  • Aim low. It goes without saying that most New Year’s resolutions are easier announced (or written) than done-but if you set the bar too high, you’re doomed from the start. Instead of a sweeping declaration like “I will lose 30 pounds by April and finally fit into that dress,” target a goal that’s more attainable, like losing 10 or 15 pounds.
  • Tell everyone you know. One school of thought says that New Year’s resolutions are best kept to oneself, but look at it this way: the more people to whom you announce your resolution (say, to get out of your dead-end job by spring), the more people there’ll be to prod you along if you fall behind. There’s no shame in seeking help if you can’t accomplish your resolution on your own
Instead of making a huge list, I have narrowed my decisions for 2011 down to two:
  • Lose weight…not looking to become my former 17 year old self, but a slimmer face and stomach would be nice
  • More face time with the fam…I work a lot of hours professionally and in our ministry, so I will need to cut back a little so that Sydney doesn’t think that the computer is a sibling!
Fingers crossed that I can stay on task!
Leave a Reply

