Birthday & Super Bowl Celebrations…and Bites Equal an Interesting Weekend


Last weekend, I put away the laptop and the work phone to spend some time with my family. My husband celebrated his 32nd birthday and we spent the weekend eating fatty foods and spending some much needed time together. We purchased a carrot cake from Craig’s Custom Cakes, which was absolutely yummy! I swear I could eat that cake for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As I mentioned before, Craig’s motto is “C4 yourself how good we are,” and I couldn’t agree more. Contact Craig Allen today at (248) 376-0767 or via email at c4bakery@yahoo.com.

By struck of luck (on his part), my husband’s birthday always falls on or around Super Bowl, which means I spent that Sunday evening huddled in our friend’s home cooking all of his favorite foods: Sloppy Joes, Potato Skins and Banana Pudding. I was so proud of myself because I managed to get all of the ingredients for my dishes from Aldi’s…for only $30! Needless to say I was exhausted, but he was pleased. I didn’t see much of the game, commercials or even half time, so when I was done cooking and helping to set up, I flopped in a chair and watched everyone else eat.

Poor Sydney, who is just plain deprived of having interaction with other kids, was trying her best to play with a baby. She hugged her and kissed her and tried to play with her, but the baby wasn’t having any of that. Her family was packing up to go and Sydney was leaning over her and saying her final goodbyes when all of a sudden we hear a loud wail. My child, in her desire to hug and kiss the baby, bit the child instead.

I could feel the floor opening up and swallowing me whole. No one wants their child to be guilty of harming another child. I could hear myself saying inwardly, “Not my Sydney…oh no!”  I immediately removed Sydney from the situation, telling her that she was not to bite anyone and that we are supposed to keep her hands and mouths to ourselves. I established a timeout and placed in her in it. I wish the Supernanny could have seen me!  Deep inside though, it was all I could do from packing up our stuff and running out of the house. But, I remembered that she is a young child and doesn’t yet know that it wasn’t allowed to bite others.

Luckily, the baby’s mother wasn’t too upset…or else she probably would have pushed me in the hole.

Leave a Reply

