Toddler Colds Are Awful..a Modern Mommy Rebellion


Our dear daughter was a breastfed baby, which saved us a lot in the sickness department. When she did get sick, it never lasted long  – 3 days tops. Now that she is 3 years old and officially a member of the daycare community, some bugs are seemingly harder to kick than others. Exhibit A: 6 days of coughing, runny nose, stuffy nose, crabbiness, lack of appetite and holding of ears.

Being a modern Mommy, I followed the new rule to not medicate. So, my husband and I regretfully tried the saline drops, used the bulb, made the tea and gave tons of hugs. We even gave her this all natural cough syrup that had honey in it to soothe her aching chest. To that effect, I caught the bug and it turned into bronchitis (sickness in pregnancy to be discussed in a future entry). Finally, after 6 days of watching her cute little face look sicker and sicker, I had enough. Luckily, I have a team of parents to gripe to (thanks Facebook!) and they gave me some options on how to relieve my child’s cold symptoms and not risk overdose.

We purchased Pedicare and it worked like a charm. We gave her half the dose (1 tsp) and sent her off to bed. The next morning she woke up looking normal again and without the cough. She still has a runny nose, but I think I will give her another dose tonight…just to take the edge off.

Is that judgement I see in your eyes as you read this? Too bad! As miserable as I felt being sick, it was amplified by watching my little one suffer and hearing that chesty cough. I couldn’t take it anymore and neither should you! I say to the FDA: do some real studies and come up with some real solutions on how to treat our children under the age of 4. It isn’t fair! Don’t just tell parents that it will go away in a few days. Don’t have pediatricians turn us away and tell us to use our vaporizers!

And besides, our parents gave us Dimetap, Tylenol and all that stuff and yet we are here to tell the story.

Sometimes too much prevention is just that…TOO MUCH!

Leave a Reply

