Strong Bones Build Character


“Someone said adversity builds character, but someone else said adversity reveals character. I’m pleasantly surprised with my resilience. I persevere, and not just blindly. I take the best, get rid of the rest, and move on, realizing that you can make a choice to take the good.” Brooke Shields
4rdqcIt has been 2 weeks and 1 day since our lives have changed. My Mother-in-Law is on me about moving the baby into her crib and I am dragging my feet. She still isn’t sleeping through the night and so I don’t want to interrupt the sleep of my eldest with the sounds of a crying baby. After all, she has to go to school and needs her rest.

But my biggest reason is because I constantly wake up to check on her. Any little sound instantly drags me from my sleep to check for anything out of the ordinary.

I know that I shouldn’t worry. Her pediatric endocrinologist, Dr. Peter Gerrits, MDgerrits_peter called me at work today to inform us that her lab results show she is taking the calcium well. Her dosage will be cut in half and he wants to test her Vitamin D levels in two weeks. He remarks that she is doing very well and expects her to have a full recovery. Even better, he wants to communicate with her pediatrician to make sure they are on the same wavelength in terms of her treatment.

That’s what we like the most about Dr. Gerrits. He is all about communication and making sure we understand what’s going on. We wish we could have said the same thing about our daughter’s first pediatrician. After much thought, we decided to her go and move our daughter to the same physician that tends to our other two kiddos. Reasoning for the Donald Trump style firing? Even though she was informed of the serious nature of her daughter’s health, she never called or emailed or even visited her hospital room. Perhaps she has too many clients or just plain rude. Either way, we decided that we only want the best for all of our children. And in my opinion, there’s no better pediatrician than Dr. Crystal Banks…so she gets all of our feisty children!

Before getting off the phone, her endocrinologist reminded us to take her outside for a few minutes every day to make sure she gets some sunshine on that pretty little face of hers. Hearing him say that reminds me of her first birthday party, only weeks away.  At first, we were going to have a small event, just cake and ice cream, but after everything that has happened, we can’t help wanting to celebrate God’s blessing to our family by returning her to us. So no small inside event for us! And besides, I love to plan a party…

Did you take your vitamin D today?

Leave a Reply

