Sick of Feeling Guilty


SICK_DAY

Are you a workaholic? If you answered yes, then you probably have worked while being sick. “Oh it’s just the sniffles,” you’ve called the flu.  “A tickle in my chest,” you’ve called pneumonia. All the while, you are helping to spread germs around the office. And it doesn’t end there. More and more of us feel guilty about taking vacation time, as if the office will come to an end because we aren’t there.

Lesson: You are only hurting yourself.

I learned this lesson the hard way when I got bronchitis a few years ago. A supervisor called me (yes I answered the phone) and requested that I develop a banner for an overseas conference. Telling me that it was needed right away and if I could help it would most appreciated, I tossed my meds to the side and set to work. I worked all day long and felt worse than I had when I took the dreaded call. Turned out, the banner didn’t need to be completed that day! I worked for nothing!

The truth is that we all get sick or need a mental health day at one point, it’s just a part of life and it’s ok.

So let’s walk through this together:

Step 1 – You feel sick

Step 2 – Pick up your phone and email your supervisor and say, I am taking a sick day today.

Step 3 – Put the phone down and take care of yourself

See how easy that was?

Lesson: Don’t be fooled into thinking that working through being sick will be make you more appreciated. Take the time to take care of yourself, and be nice to your colleagues by not spreading the germs.

 

Leave a Reply

