Off to Day Camp!


kids_climbingIt’s official! Our middle child has joined the ranks of the infamous day camp! He was a little nervous yesterday morning as we went through the final checks of his backpack – does he have a change of clothes (check), extra pull up for just in case accidents (check),  snack (check), blanket for nap time (check). I looked over at him and realized that my little baby boy is growing up. Won’t be long before he is racing out the house and leaving us behind.

Of course, the hubby noticed my apprehension and comforted me subtly so I wouldn’t burst into tears. I held them in and kept my concerns in check. I chose to go into work late so that I could witness this important milestone. The drop off went without a hitch. He went into the classroom and left me behind without even a goodbye. The promise of fun activities and pizza for lunch lured him away. I checked on him later on and he had already assimilated into school life,  standing at the door quietly, waiting to go into the gym.

My husband reports that at the end of the day he was very happy to go home but had a great time and is excited to go back. Most importantly, he was dry! We are definitely on our way to being fully potty trained.

And so we begin the second day of camp and I went off to work, hoping that my precious son will be safe and happy. He must have thought about his poor Mommy because he called me from his Dad’s phone to tell me to have a good day at work and that he was going to school to play with this friends.

Life goes on…

 

Leave a Reply

