Achieving Work Life Balance in a COVID-19 World


Photo by cottonbro on Pexels.com

Times have changed. For years, I sought more flexibility in my professional career. Before COVID-19 happened, most employers were against the working from home revolution. Excuses given included that it didn’t work, that people needed to be together working as a team, and that they thought most people were home eating bon-bons and watching tv instead of working. 

It’s interesting to see how a global pandemic changes things.

According to a Gallup article, in mid-April, more than 62% of the workforce are working remotely. Thanks to VPN and Microsoft SharePoint, everyone can access their files and work efficiently. Meetings are being held via Microsoft Teams or Zoom, and everyone is learning how to be more collaborative in their work habits.  People have organized their work areas and relish the idea that they can work in peace and quiet without being interrupted by their co-workers during the day. For the most part, things are moving smoothly as they can.

Unless you’re a parent.

Working at home while the kids are virtual learning at home as it’s own challenges. From the time my little ones get up until the time they go to bed, they are a handful. I have found a few ways that help me successfully work remotely while the kids are at home.

Organization is Key

Don’t get me wrong. This is not the time to be a Drill Sargeant (at least not in my house). For the summer, I assign my kids three tasks to get done during the day. Each child has to complete an academic activity; whether that’s using an educational app, working on a few pages in the summer packet from the school, or reading a book. I add in a chore that’s age-appropriate and a task that doesn’t require using electronics for good measure. In addition, our family has chosen to learn American Sign Language (ASL) together, courtesy of Dr. Bill Vicars. We need to practice the language every day, so I always try to find a creative and fun way to get it all in.

Take Breaks

Here’s where I falter in my plans. Often I find myself sitting in front of the computer for hours at a time. I always plan to get up and walk away from the computer and next thing I know I am literally working through lunch. I’m not alone, I noticed that my colleagues are doing the same thing. And when we do take a break, it usually involves stressing out our eyes by searching the Internet. Instead of sitting in the front of the computer, get up and take a walk around the neighborhood, water the garden, or read a book. You’ll find that it adds positivity to your day.

Build in Play Time

“Mommy, are you done working yet?” It’s a common question that I get during the day. And it’s a question that I ignored because I was so focused on getting all of my work done, especially when I had a an impending due date. However, I learned I was doing the same thing that I was doing when I worked outside the home. It’s a great feeling to be super productive at work, but it’s also wonderful to have work-life balance where you pour the same amount of effort into family time. I take advantage of lunch time or start earlier a few days in the week so that I can step away and play a game or read a book with my kids.

It isn’t perfect, but these suggestions are definitely a step in the right direction towards a healthy work-life balance. I’d love to hear how you are establishing a work-life balance in your homes! Share your feedback below!

Leave a comment